Posted by: Joe | February 3, 2007

Come on and work it on out

I was at the Horseshoe last night for Friday Morning’s Regret‘s CD release party. Like a lot of shows I go to, I was more interested in the supporting band than the headliners.

Leading off was Timber Timbre, who I hadn’t heard of before last night. They’re a 2-piece band reminiscient of The White Stripes, only if instead of rock, they played a haunting bluesy-folk. And if Meg White could carry a tune. Their MySpace tracks don’t really do them justice–the recording isn’t great, and doesn’t reflect the dark richness of their sound. The highlight of their set for me was an incredible cover of “Twist and Shout”. Blew. My. Mind.

The draw for me last night was Ohbijou, who have been a rising star in the Toronto music scene over the past 6 months or so. I wasn’t the only person looking forward to hearing their orchestral-pop; by the time they took the stage, the Shoe was *packed*. Casey Mecija’s voice is sweet beyond words, but is an even bigger treat on some of the more powerful vocal parts of the songs. No doubt about it, Ohbijou makes pretty, pretty music. I’ll definitely be catching another show sometime soon. ohbijou_jenn.JPG

I didn’t stick around to hear FMR, but after another listen to their MySpace this morning, my Saturday morning regret is that I didn’t stay. Another time, I guess.

Responses

  1. Whoa, that’s freaky. I happened to read this post just as I walked over to my computer to search for FMR on slsk.

  2. Doubly-freaky: just now I walked back into the living room to tell my wife about it, and she said her boss was there last night as well. Her nephew’s in the band.

    I’m gettin’ a little creeped out now.

  3. […] out to Hamilton to see Ohbijou at The Casbah. I’ve wanted to catch another show ever since I saw them February, only to be foiled at every turn, so I was pretty […]

  4. […] when he opens up for Handsome Furs. Timber Timbre came up. I was surprised that Jennifer Mecija of Ohbijou was accompanying Timber Timbre. The set was interestingly done. It had a sad, sombre feel and I […]

  5. […] when he opens up for Handsome Furs. Timber Timbre came up. I was surprised that Jennifer Mecija of Ohbijou was accompanying Timber Timbre. The set was interestingly done. It had a sad, sombre feel and I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

