Posted by: Joe | February 5, 2007

Zen, and the art of curling

I had a fantastic curling practice session on Sunday morning.

I’ve spent a lot of time working on delivery technique. Because of that, I’ve developed muscle memory that has built a very repeatable delivery. When I miss shots, the problem is typically a mental error more than physical.

Aligning myself to the target” is very different than “aligning my self to the target“. In order to become a better curler, I need to learn how to isolate myself. People on the next sheet, people behind the glass, the ache in my legs from throwing hundreds of rocks, the consequences of making or missing the shot do not exist in my universe for the 30 seconds it takes to execute.

One of my favorite sports-movie scenes is from “For Love of the Game” where Costner’s character “clears the mechanism”. I’ve tried to emulate that in the past, but Sunday was the first time I’ve been able to really do it.

And the results were scary good.

Responses

  1. […] than I was. I think going to see an event a couple months ago was a big help, as were some of the mental drills I’ve done for curling. Many of the cliches that you hear about athletes when they’re focussed on the task at hand […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

