Posted by: Joe | March 11, 2007

Wanna see something cool?

I was making dinner this evening, and thought:

Inner Voice 1: “You know, going to see all these bands is kinda wearing on me. What else can we do tonight?”
IV 2: “Come on, you know you dig bands with exclamation points in their name. You Say Party! We Say Die! are going to be awesome!
IV 1: “No, screw it, I’m not going. Think of something else to do.”
IV 2: “Alright I’ve got an idea. Lets slash our left hand for 7 stitches and spend a couple hours over at Trillium in emergency!”
IV 1: “Rock on!”

Wanna see something cool/bloody? Click for more, along with my ER Review!

I have to say, if you’re going to take a slice out of yourself, go with good German steel–it holds an edge well, and makes for a nice clean cut.

slash.jpg

If you’re heading to an emergency room in the west end, I highly recommend Trillium Health Centre in Mississauga. I’m a first time patient, long time visitor. There’s rarely a wait of any consequence at Trillium–the staff are friendly and efficient, and move people through quickly. I was in and out within a couple hours.

My nurse, Kyle, cleaned out the wound with a minimum of discomfort.

The gurneys are suprisingly comfortable. I grabbed my iPod on my way out the door and had 45minutes or so to chill to my Soundtrack 2006 Playlist while waiting for Dr. Lee to get to me. I actually fell asleep for 10-15min. I love naps. I want a gurney at work. A 10 minute nap in the afternoon would be awesome.

Dr. Lee stitched me up quickly and cleanly. I should have asked him not to do quite such a good job. In the words of the immortal Shane Falco: “Pain heals. Chicks dig scars. Glory … lasts forever.”

Enough typing–the lidocaine is wearing off.

Final feedback: EXCELLENT AAA+++++++. WOULD GO FOR STITCHES AGAIN.

Responses

  1. Yikes! That looks nasty!

    After being on the receiving end of several sets of stitches (my doctor made fun of the frequency the last time), I must say that it is a relatively low-pain option if you are looking to spend a Sunday evening in the emergency room. You didn’t miss the brier did you?!

    You’ve given me an idea for my own blog… because there’s nothing funner than swapping scar stories, right?

  2. […] 12th, 2007 by furrychocolates Inspired by Joe’s Sunday night entry, in which he suggests that he has just received his first set of stitches, I thought a review of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

