Posted by: Joe | May 28, 2007

Aaaaaand…..the light comes on

A month or so ago, I listened to a few songs from Amy Winehouse‘s album Back to Black. It really didn’t do anything for me, so I never got through the whole thing.

I should have stayed with it for track #4. I ran across “Me & Mr. Jones” on StG today while catching up on my backlog of RSS posts. *swoon* (Thank you, StG!).

I know I have an impatient ear, and I tend to give up on an artist too easily if they don’t grab me right away. But I love it when I finally hear THE song that says to me “this, right here, is what this artist is about”–and when that moment happens I hear every other song just a little bit differently than before.

Example #2: I’ve written before about how I don’t “get” Sufjan Stevens. A couple of days ago “The Widows In Paradise, For The Fatherless In Ypsilanti” was posted on The Site Which Shall Not Be Named. Now I need to add some Sufjan to my eMusic “Save for later” list. (Thanks, usagi!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

