Posted by: Joe | July 7, 2007

Rollin’, rollin’, rollin’…

I woke up early for some reason and couldn’t get back to sleep, even though I’d been up pretty late last night.  Evening workouts always do that to me–I have a hard time coming down.  So I got up, whipped up some french toast for breakfast and went out to the garage to build a gate for the entryway to the backyard at the side of the house.  Nothing fancy, swings open, swings shut, but it was nice to get one of those lingering items off the homeowner ToDo list.

After the gate had been hanged I made a visit to the driving range to work a few kinks out of the golf swing.  I’ve been pretty slack in the practice department this year, and my scores are showing it.  I think I figured out a few things, and I hope they stick for at least a day or so–I’m playing the Ladies Golf Club of Toronto tomorrow.  Originally a Stanley Thompson design, it’s a private ladies’ club–the only golf club in North America owned completely by women.  A friend from the curling club is a member–we’re trading a round at the course for some curling lessons this fall.

After the range, I hustled back home to pick up my gear and head to the gym.  Short but tough workout today–it had to be close to 40C in there.  4 rounds of sparring today.  I’m slowly getting more comfortable in the ring, though I’ve still got a lot of work to do.  I’m targeting late August for a possible amateur fight (assuming I can be ready), which gives me ~6weeks to prepare.  I think I need to lose ~12lbs of fat before then to give me a shot at reaching 147lbs, which is where I’d like to fight.  So as it turns out, I need to follow my own advice: expend 1000 calories a day more than I intake, every day for 6 weeks.  Piece of, um, cake.   Mmmmmmm, cake.

Following the sparring sessions was one of the most bizarre drills I’ve ever done.  A lap of somersaults around the inside of the ring, fast as you can roll, then stand up and try to shadowbox.  Wash, rinse, repeat x 3.  At some point or another everybody gets their bell rung in a fight–you need to be able to work through the disorientation and survive the round.  Combine this with the exhaustion from skipping/shadowboxing/sparring/head movement drills/heat&humidity, and it was *tough*.

So, for the rest of the night I’ve been relaxing with some Forza 2.  I think that’s enough for one day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

