Posted by: Joe | July 24, 2007

Oh Zujirushi, how do I love thee…

…let me count the ways.

I love my rice cooker. A serious gadget man-crush normally only reserved for power tools, barbecue grills and exotic cars. It was my favorite kitchen appliance when all I was using it for was perfect rice. Now that I’ve started exploring some other things you can cook with it, it’s moved into my

Top 5 Things To Grab Out of My House In Case Of Fire

  1. Dog
  2. Wallet
  3. iPod
  4. Rice Cooker
  5. Ace of Base – The Sign CD

OK, I couldn’t think of a fifth thing.

For anybody who works out a lot, particularly in the mornings, a rice cooker is a godsend–cereal grains such as oatmeal, flax and barley are perfect fuel for extended periods of exercise due to their extremely low glycemic index (GI). Without going into too much detail, low-GI foods are a good thing because they don’t cause wild swings in your blood sugar and insulin levels, delaying hypoglycemia (and thus fatigue).

Every night I put a 1/2 cup of my hot cereal of choice in the basin, fill with water to the appropriate line, toss in a handful of raisins, and set the timer to wake up to a piping-hot bowl of breakfast. Did I mention that it’s perfect EVERY TIME? This thing is as idiot proof a product as has ever been made.

Tonight, I made easiest jambalaya ever.  Just toss all the stuff in the rice cooker, set the timer, and it was ready virtually the exact instant I got home from the gym.

.

Apparently I did manage to block a significant portion of those body shots correctly last night–my left arm and both elbows are bruised to hell. If my ribs had taken those shots I’d be in even rougher shape today than I already am.

Inertia is a bitch.  Occasionally you have days where you really don’t feel like working out.  You’re stiff, you’re sore, you didn’t get enough sleep, yada yada yada.  Today was one of those days.  But if you can push yourself hard on those days, it means you can go that much harder on the days when you feel good.  I went for a light jog with Maryanna, the fitness coordinator at the office gym today over lunch, and once I got loosened up, I was ready to work again.   Newton and his First Law can kiss my ass.

Calorie Intake:

  • 1/2 cup wheat/flax cereal w/ raisins & brown sugar – 500 cal
  • 225g fresh grapes – 135 cal
  • 300g cooked pasta w/ tomato sauce – 450 cal
  • Astro fruit bottom yogurt – 120 cal
  • 2 x Quaker Chewy Chocolate Chip granola bar – 360 cal
  • 2 x 600ml bottle Gatorade -250 cal
  • Strawberry Storm Booster Juice – 350 cal
  • 1 can diet Red Rain energy drink – 20 cal
  • 1 1/2 cups jambalaya – 600 cal

Total In: 2785 calories

Calories Expended:

Life

Lunch workout

  • 3.7km light run + calisthenics – 350 cal

Evening workout

  • 15min skipping – 200 cal
  • 3 rounds shadowboxing – 75 cal
  • 4 rounds heavy bag – 100 cal
  • 40 sets stair sprints – 500 (?) cal

Total Expended: 3925 calories

Daily Net Calories: (minus 1140 calories)

Once I got moving, I was really up for the  evening workout.  I love running stairs.  It was one of the staples of our wrestling workouts in university and I’ve kept it as a major part of my training ever since.  I don’t just run stairs–I attack them.  I’m talking people-watching-jaws -gape-hide-the-women-and-children-that-guy’s-insane stairs.  My heart rate is going up just thinking about it.  It was especially good tonight because this was the first time I’ve been able to go all out without risking further damage to the knee.  It’s still not 100%, but I don’t have to hold back anymore.

Leave a Reply

Categories

