Posted by: Joe | October 4, 2007

Invite the tabby two doors down

I’m not a huge fan of The Weakerthans, but I’m curious about Reunion Tour for no other reason than to find out what’s going on with Virtute the Cat [mp3].

.

I realized today that I don’t own a single Radiohead or Bruce Springsteen album.  Shame on me.

.

I’m slowly getting to the bottom of my new music pile, so I popped over to Pitchfork for a few minutes to see if there was anything recent that I should be listening to.  I don’t think I’ve ever read a Pitchfork review before.  Going through a few, I think in general the music they recommend is good–you’re pretty safe buying any album that gets an 8+.  Don’t bother reading any farther than the score though–the reviews themselves are the most self-indulgent, pretentious dreck I’ve ever read.  I feel nauseous thinking about it.

Responses

  1. Agreed on Pitchfork :-) + every retrospective album gets a high score :-(

    New Radiohead album Oct 10; pay-what-you-want for digital download and that includes for-free.

    Veni Vidi Vicious!

  2. No Radiohead or Springsteen? Jesus, that’s criminal. You should buy all the Radiohead you can locate. Most Springsteen is shit, but a copy of Nebraska is an absolute requisite.


Leave a Reply

Categories

