Posted by: Joe | October 5, 2007

Giant Robots!

I was watching tube a couple nights ago, and an ad for the Transformers Movie DVD touted it as “the most original movie of the year”. Really? A movie based on a 23 year old line of toys which has spawned multiple TV cartoons, a cartoon feature film, and innumerable comic books, is the most *original* movie of the year?

Wow. Banner year for Hollywood.

.

I finally ended up seeing Transformers last night–I had assumed from the start that this would eventually end up in IMAX format, which is why I waited so long.

There are plenty of “OH COME ON” moments that I had to suspend my tech-geek disbelief for, but on the whole it was the 10-year old me sitting in the theatre last night. Hearing Peter Cullen’s voice reverb through the room was great.

Suprisingly, the only performances I really didn’t enjoy in the movie were Voight and Turturro. Their paychecks must have come with a postage-paid return envelope to mail in their performances with.

I’d say it was worthwhile theatre movie, but it’s very unlikely that I’ll buy the DVD.

.

Speaking of Peter Cullen–WHERE IS MY VOLTRON MOVIE, MOTHERF****RS?!?!?

Leave a Reply

Categories

