Posted by: Joe | October 11, 2007

Just when I thought I was out…

…they pull me back in.

I picked up a golf club on the weekend for the first time in about 6 weeks. When I’m playing regularly, my handicap is in the high single digit range, but the last time out I shot around 95–it was awful, and I’ve had no desire at all to play since. On Saturday, I was -1 through 7 holes and had a straight 20′ birdie putt on the 8th when the heavens erupted. I think I saw gophers lining up in pairs in the rough. I was ready to keep playing, Bishop Pickering-style, but in 7-8 minutes the greens were literally underwater, and completely unputtable.

Now after getting a taste of how I know I can play again, I can’t wait to get on the course. Smokey Robinson nailed it in an interview in this month’s Golf Digest: “Golf is the heroin of sports.”

.

And just when I thought I was in…they pull me back out. Our boxing club is long on skill and instruction, short on organization and planning. This weekend I still had no details about the Brantford boxing tournament, like when/where the weigh-in was, who was working corners, etc, etc, so I pulled the plug on my participation. I can’t fight if don’t know all of this stuff well in advance.

But I swear if I don’t get a fight soon I’m going to pick one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

