Posted by: Joe | October 14, 2007

Don’t just stand there, bust a move

Saturday I was at my friend Scott’s wedding, along with a few other friends from Chantry/Siemens/Borderware.  Very small wedding, but a lot of fun.  I spent a significant portion of the evening lamenting the state of modern hip-hop with a very drunk guy named Garreth and impressing everyone with my encyclopedic knowledge of the wedding-pop genre.

What I learned at the wedding:  it seems that I am the only remaining male who remembers how to do the Macarena.

.

Saturday night was my second buffet/open-bar event of the week.  Between the wedding and the Borderware booze cruise on Wednesday, my diet (and liver) have had to take a mandatory 8-count.  I’ve gotten rocked, but I’m back in control.  For now–curling season starts Tuesday.

.

Speaking of diet, for a while now I’ve been looking for an online alternative for tracking calories/exercise, and a couple days ago I ran into FitDay.com.  It’s a free web-based diet/activity/weightloss tracking site.  They sell a desktop version as well, but I’m sure the main revenue stream is the Google Adsense ads that my brain has learned to completely ignore.

Appropriately, it’s very lightweight and doesn’t try to do to much.  Entering data is very easy, though at times the keyword searches for foods and activities don’t work quite as well as they should.  I’ve only been using it a couple days, but it seems very good so far.

Responses

  1. No Joe, you’re the only male that admits to knowing the Macarena.

  2. You’re just bitter that you only dance with one woman now.

  3. The diet journal online would suit some people. Although it is free they could make money on the site by recommending other products to customers once they sign up on the site.

  4. How many drinks does it take to get joe doing the macarena?!

    1 – 2 – 3 – …


Leave a Reply

Categories

