Posted by: Joe | October 14, 2007

I’m officially a “Runner” now

I’m developing my first case of plantar fasciitis. I think it’s a fairly minor case right now, but just so you know, it sucks. My calves have felt really tight the past few weeks, so I’m pretty sure that’s the cause.

My treatment strategy:

  • intense stretching of the hamstrings, calves and Achilles tendon. I’m going to devote 30min every morning focused on this, which I probably should have been doing anyway.
  • glucosamine supplements, plus ibuprofen for pain
  • Contrast bath therapy in the evenings – ice baths followed by heat. There is some debate as to the actual therapeutic benefits, but it should help reduce pain regardless of whether it’s promoting healing.

.

I’ve had my Grid Stabil 6s now for 11 weeks (and somewhere in the area of 250-300 miles). They’re still holding up fairly well, though the cushioning that impressed me so much in my initial few runs is mostly gone. The support still appears to be fine however–at this point they feel remarkable similar to the previous generation MC5 that I’ve used in the past, and I think I should be able to get another 150 miles out of them with no problem.

I just got an email a couple days ago that there is a new Runner’s Room Outlet store not far from home. I do love the sexy Stabil 6, but for 60% of the price I like my old faithful MC5s more.

Leave a Reply

Categories

