Posted by: Joe | October 17, 2007

???/!!!

I’ve been enjoying Myth Takes by !!! for the past couple months. When I learned that they’d be at The Opera House on Monday night I jumped, nay, leapt at the opportunity.

Going into the show, I *thought* the opening act was going to be The Field, a Swedish minimalist-techno artist. It soon became apparent that this was not the case when a wall of rock descended on the crowd. It appears that The Field only attended the US tour dates, and the openers for this show were…um…

OK, I still don’t know. I didn’t see any merchandise out, they never actually said “Hi, we’re ???”, and my normally über Google-fu is failing me. So, until proven otherwise, I’m going to refer to them as “???”.

It’s too bad I don’t know their name, because they were a really good drum/bass/synth act, à la Death From Above 1979. Only with a Betty Davis-esque lead singer in a lamé dress. It works much better than that description might indicate. Huge sound, great pipes.

!!! started off with a bang, going straight into “Myth Takes” and “All My Heroes Are Weirdos”. Maniacal bouncing ensued for the next hour. Sign of a great concert: I get home and need R.I.C.E. I guess it could also mean…no screw that, you are all Murtaugh, I am Martin Riggs.

After seeing !!!, I am of the opinion that every band should have at least two drummers, three if you can swing it. Thoughout the course of the show, they went through almost as many percussionists as Stomp. More hitting stuff == more awesome.

It is virtually impossible to take your eyes off of Nic Offer.  He really explores the space.

Responses

  1. So what do you call a band called !!! when you are talking about them? “Three exclamation points”?

    I may be displaying ignorance here but I genuinely want to know …

  2. The official answer is that you can call them any three repeated monosyllabic sounds. Pow Pow Pow. Bang Bang Bang. Ick Ick Ick. Whatever.

    The generally accepted alternate name is “Chk Chk Chk”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

