Posted by: Joe | October 31, 2007

An unexpected issue…

For the past week or so, I’ve been cutting weight (again), in preparation for a fight card Nov 17 in Guelph.  I’m right on schedule, and more trim right now than ever, but it’s come with something unexpected:  I don’t have enough body fat to keep my chair from pressing against the backs of my legs, and my ass keeps falling asleep at my desk chair.  I have to stand up and walk around very 20min.

There really should be brochure or a pamphlet or something to warn about this type of thing.

.

Over the past week or so, I’ve tried a couple times to get through Strawberry Jam by Animal Collective.  Unsuccessfully.  I really do not understand why so many people are losing their shit over this album.  It is just exhausting.

Responses

  1. Animal Collective is one of those bands that indie hipster nerds (by which I mean those people who want the label more than they want to listen to the music) profess to love because they know the band will never be mainstream and no one will, as a consequence, question their indie cred for having once liked a mainstream band. Nobody actually *likes* their music. It’s like a secret indie handshake. “Hey, you like Animal Collective? Yeah? Cool, we can hang out then.”

    It’s like film students who claim to love Un Chien Andalou…no they don’t. But no one else ever will either, so they keep it for themselves so they can have their little club.

  2. […] I think now I do. I still don’t like them; I think I’m just on to the scam. I ranted on my friend Joe’s blog about them a while ago; rather than repeat myself I’ll just paste here what I wrote there: […]

  3. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  4. […] An unexpected issue… No comments for this entry yet… […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

