Posted by: Joe | December 9, 2007

Catching up

I haven’t had much of a chance to write anything over the past few weeks because between work, curling, training and trying to keep the house in some semblance of order I’ve had zero free time. None. Nada. Zilch.

Last weekend I was curling in the Chisholm Bonspiel, held every year at the Toronto Cricket and Skating Club. We’ve been to this ‘spiel for the past 3 years now, and have done fairly well, losing in the final the first year, winning the Consolation Event last year and winning the 3rd Event this year. We’ve yet to win the bonspiel, but because of our placing we’ve managed to do well in the calcutta auction every year.

.

On Wednesday night I was at the Mod Club to see Los Campesinos! once again. They were great, but it was essentially the same show I saw back in August with just a change in venue.

What did catch my ear was local powerpop 5-piece Sweet Thing. The set started off a little slow but once they got going–wow. Melodic pop, infused with catchy guitar riffs, and a frontman with a Michael Bublé-esque voice. Owen Carrier’s combination of range, power and vocal control are remarkable. Extremely tight performance. They’ve just been signed by EMI, and it’s a fair bet they’ll be getting some radio play in the future.

.

Like most people in university, instant ramen noodles and KD were a huge part of my diet. You’d think after eating so much of it, I’d never want more.

You would be wrong. I love both.

I’ve been exploring the local asian food markets lately, looking to expand my instant-noodle repertoire beyond the ubiquitous Mr. Noodle, and I found this:

d84a17771d857cf216d79bbb566ae8b0.jpg

It’s about as close to instant phở as you’re going to get, inexpensive and the portion size is relatively filling. And yes, it was the exclamation point that caught my eye. That’s one of the things I love about asian restaurants. Come on, admit it: if you have to choose between two restaurants, one called “Mario’s BBQ” and the other called “So Yummy! Yummy!”, which one are you going to pick?

Next time I’m in I’ll buy a case.

Leave a Reply

Categories

