Posted by: Joe | January 3, 2008

Where the lovelight gleams

Last week, I was largely out of touch from my online presence, as I was home for the holiday week. This is the first time I’ve been home for the holidays in about 6-7 years, so I was looking forward to the trip.

Most trips home it takes me about 2 days to be itching for the city again, but I managed to stay pretty busy this time. After making breakfast for my parents and sister, we drove down to Fredericton to spend Christmas day with my little brother and his family. My baby niece has recently developed a fascination with monster trucks (JAN 19-20! AT ROGER’S CENTRE! IT’S MONSTER JAM!!!). Good to see you’re bringing her up right, bro. Brings a tear to my eye.

One highlight of the trip home was my triumphant return to Florenceville Curling Club on Thursday night. I hadn’t thrown a rock there since high school. One of my cousins and her husband have taken up curling over the past couple years, and I joined them for a pickup game. The evening started with a somewhat rushed, but fantastic dinner preceded by a bottle of Disaronno and a carton of eggnog that went down far, far too easily.

We ended up playing the brother of a girl I went to high school with, and on the sheet next to us was the coach of my high school curling team and an old friend that was a year ahead of me in school. I expect that in Carleton County–pretty much everybody I meet is related to somebody I know, somehow, but it turns out that world isn’t that much bigger than my small hometown–we discovered that Candace and Brian used to work with my friend Dan’s brother.

Saturday night brought a Facebook-organized high school mini-reunion, which was a lot of fun. 14 years apparently, is right on the edge where everybody starts to look old. Hardly anybody recognized me right away, mostly due to the lid I’m currently sporting–I don’t think anybody there knew my hair is curly. I, of course, forgot to take my camera with me. It’s not my fault, I get hit in the head a lot. Yes, I use that excuse for everything. After the bar closed a few of us made the trek out to Juniper to continue the party into the wee hours.

I did manage to take some time to get some winter pictures around the old homestead–hopefully this weekend I’ll have time sort through them and put a few up on my Flickr account.

Fun trip, but it’s good to be home and back in the regular routine. A 3 week workout break and a week of living with your grandmother doesn’t help the weight maintenance.

Responses

  1. We love it when you visit, Joe! I’m really glad you could make it and could stay so long. Disaronno and egg nog … who knew? (Other than you, I mean. Cause obviously … you knew.)

    I had no idea you had ventured into the wooly world of Juniper… a brave one you are!

    I can’t wait to see the pics! I’ll put a few of my own up on facebook this weekend.

    Love ya!


Leave a Reply

Categories

