Posted by: Joe | January 30, 2008

Well, that sort of explains some things…

I saw this Richard Stallman personal ad on Best of Craiglist recently–I dismissed it as a joke until I saw this post on waxy.org:

While the text is authentic, the free software activist almost certainly didn’t post it to Craigslist himself, since he doesn’t really use the web. (Instead, he reads web pages by sending an email to a daemon, which retrieves the URL with wget and emails it back to him. Yes, this is not a joke.)

The personal ad isn’t what caught my attention, it’s the other part. This sort of thinking is a perfect explanation for why Linux will never, *ever* replace Windows as a mainstream desktop OS. Normal people do not think like this.

.

I have never been a huge Heath Ledger fan, but I’ve been pretty excited to see his portrayal of The Joker in the upcoming Dark Knight.

This tribute by director Christopher Nolan makes me want to go back and watch everything he’s ever been involved with.

.

This TasteTO feature on asian treats is making me wish I worked in Markham again. Don’t get me wrong, there are lots of great asian restaurants in Mississauga, but I *really* miss the food court at First Markham Place.

Leave a Reply

Categories

