Posted by: Joe | August 15, 2008

Back to the routine

This I’ve been largely been trying to get back to some sort of regular routine after the week+ vacation. It was good to be home again, and cool to play tour guide for Sheila, who had never been to New Brunswick before.

Highlights:

  • My niece Abigail’s baptism.
  • Camping at Indian Point in St. Andrews. I’d ridden my bike around the point a thousand times as a kid, but had never been to the campground.
  • The fantastic drive from Alma to Hopewell Cape along Chignecto Bay, full of sweeping turns and elevation changes. I love my car.
  • Hopewell Rocks. I hadn’t seen them since I was a kid. Next trip I’d like to go at high tide and do some sea kayaking.
  • Afternoon hiking to Hays Falls and Gibson Falls with Candace and Brian.
  • Grand Falls — the water levels are incredibly high, near spring flood levels.

I have some new pictures from last week on my Flickr photostream.

.

Part of getting back into into the regular routine is involving getting back into a regular workout schedule. I’ve been feeling heavy, sluggish and slow after an extended break, and with curling season coming up it’s time to start preparing. Dominion of Canada Insurance Company recently announced sponsorship of the Dominion Curling Club Championship, a national level tournament for club champion teams across the country. The inaugural national finals will be held at our home club next fall, and is something we’ll be targeting as a goal.

.

The first workout after a layoff is always painful, and I’m feeling it today, so I settled into a sea salt bath and started into a book. Digging through the bookshelf I came upon a hardcover copy of To Kill A Mockingbird, and since I hadn’t read it in a while, I started in.

I must not have actually ever opened this copy, because I don’t remember ever having read this forward:

Please spare Mockingbird an Introduction. As a reader I loathe Introductions. To novels, I associate Introductions with long-gone authors and works that are being brought back into print after decades of interment. Although Mockingbird will be 33 this year, it has never been out of print and I am still alive, although very quiet. Introductions inhibit pleasure, they kill the joy of anticipation, they frustrate curiosity. The only good thing about Introductions is that is some cases they delay the dose to come. Mockingbird still says what it has to say; it has managed to survive the years without preamble.

Harper Lee
12 February 1993

I think I would like Harper Lee.

Leave a Reply

Categories

