Posted by: Joe | August 19, 2008

Music Catch-up

1998 is a couple years before I started getting into indie rock, so I completely missed out on In the Aeroplane Over the Sea by Neutral Milk Hotel.  For some reason that album popped into my head a couple weeks ago so I grabbed it on eMusic.  It has a very similar sound to sound to Frightened Rabbit’s The Midnight Organ Fight which I’ve been going back to constantly for months.  Future musicians, get to work–I expect an awesome lo-fi indie folk rock album in 2018.

.

Speaking of Frightened Rabbit, they’ll be at Lee’s Palace on October 21 as support for some band I’ve never heard of.  Concert calendar: UPDATED.  (via Chromewaves).

.

We went out to see The Dark Knight (in IMAX, natch) on Saturday night.  Loved it.  There was a significant lineup to get into the theater even though it’s been in theaters for a month.  I won’t rehash what I liked and didn’t like as all those points have been done to death in a million reviews.  Except I will point out that the score by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard is fantastic, and I don’t think it’s been mentioned by enough critics.  Between Gladiator, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, Zimmer now the composer to go to if you want your movie to feel big.  Not bad for a former Buggle.

.

Hip-hop lyric of the day:

“You said your girl looked like Drew Barrymore.
I met her, she looks like Drew Carey more.”

First time I’ve ever decided to buy an album from hearing the first two lines of a song.  If you like your hip-hop old school, with playful lyrics full of pop culture references (many Canada-specific), check out Burglaritis from Wordburglar [MySpace].

Responses

  1. In The Aeroplane Over The Sea = awesome. My friend Alana introduced me to it. Ghost Ghost and Oh Comely are brilliant.

    Frightened Rabbit…I might have to go to that, if I’m back from Halifax in time.

    Dark Knight = also awesome, as you said.


Leave a Reply

Categories

