Posted by: Joe | December 1, 2008

Mike “PrimeTime” Post, 1980-2008

My coach and friend, Mike Post, passed away Friday morning.

I was doing a workout Friday at lunchtime, doing a drill that Mike had shown me some years ago.  I came back to my desk and learned through a series of Facebook updates that he was gone.  Few details have been released; all that I know is that he was rushed to hospital from his gym via ambulance around 6am, and pronounced dead sometime later.

Mike was one of Canada’s top ranked super-lightweights, in the prime of his career and poised to break out as one of the elite in professional boxing.  Mike valued honor, respect and hard work above all, and taught me how to push myself to the very limit.

Mike is the only person I’ve every known that pushed himself harder in the gym than I do.  Every rep in the gym, every jab I throw has a piece of Mike in it.

Thanks, Mike.  I’ll miss you.

post

Responses

  1. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, superb site!


Leave a Reply

Categories

