Posted by: Joe | December 15, 2008

Gym Dandies

The past few weeks have been pretty busy–the new manager at our office gym put together a little competition to try and get more bodies out.  It was basically a team competition, with the metric for winning being total time spent in the gym over the three weeks.  5 people per team, each person gets points for each 15min spent in the gym, up to 90min each day.

I already spend an hour or so a day,  so what’s another 30min?  And I’ve been planning on getting my conditioning back to try and get another fight in the new year, so this was as good of a time as any to start ramping up the workouts a bit.

Our team (see post title) won, Sheila won Top Female, and I won Top Male.  And the gym was definitely busier than normal, so the competition in general seemed to be a success, which is good.  I enjoy a busy gym–there have been times in the past when there are only one or two people working out, and I always get a bit of an energy lift having more people around.

.

To celebrate our victory, Sheila and I went to Miga for dinner Friday night.  I had been there a couple times before, but this was Sheila’s first Korean BBQ experience.  I highly recommend the place–it’s one of the more upscale Korean BBQ restaurants in the GTA.

Don’t get me wrong, there is always a special place in my heart for the more budget Korean BBQ places in Markham where you can get all the meat you can eat for $15, but the food and service at Miga are top shelf.  Each table has a pager for you to ring for a server, but I’ve never had to use it.

.

The rest of the weekend was spent relaxing, catching up on housework and finishing up my Christmas presents, which have been 6-ish months in the making.  Feel free to guess what it is, nobody has yet.

Responses

  1. if its taken you 6 month-ish than i expect something big :P

  2. Perpetual motion machine? Lady android? Spruce Goose Deuce?

    If I wake up one morning and find a large wooden animal of any kind outside my door, I am SO not bringing it in.

  3. So you actually made it, huh? How did it turn out?

    Don’t worry, secret is safe with me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

